People and Organisation

The Research Training Group is lead by twelve principal investigators and are supported by one scientific and one administrative coordinator. In the course of the research training group (RTG) more than 30 fellows and associate fellows will be educated. Selected guest-professors will organize dedicated workshops especially for the fellows of the RTG. The full RTG is organized by one spokesperson, one deputy spokesperson as well as the steering and the selection committee.


Prof. Dr. Matthias Schott
Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Office: 05-314
Staudingerweg 7
55099 Mainz, Germany

Deputy Spokesperson

Jun-Prof. Dr. Dieter Ries
Department of Chemistry – TRIGA site
Office: 00-135
Fritz-Straßmann-Weg 2
55128 Mainz

Steering Committee

The steering committee is the central body for the Research Training Group. It decides on the admission of new scientists, is responsible for the coordination and thematic orientation of the qualification program, and makes the decisions for the guest-professorship program. The following PIs are members of the steering committee: Achim Denig, Uwe Oberlack, Stefan Tapprogge

Selection Committee

The selection committee is responsible for the application procedure of new fellows and decides on their admission to the RTG. The current members of the selection committee are: Sebastian Böser, Lucia Masetti, Kristof Schmieden